Syrian Refugees

Regarding the US political debate to the Syrian Refugees:

I have a different take on the current refugee crisis.  I disagree with the reasoning of the Republican governors but I agree with blocking the refugees.

I’m not opposed to letting Syrians into the US, I’m opposed to the current administration’s handling of immigration policy in general.  If there was a rational plan to handle immigration in general then Syrians, Canadians, Mexicans, Iranians, whatever. I think everyone should want to live in the USA.

I believe in a very generous immigration policy.  I think we should welcome just about anyone who wants to come to America to work hard.  I think that should be the legal policy.

The problem is I’m opposed to circumventing the existing immigration policies.  I’m a person who believes in following rules.  The losers in all of this are the people outside our borders that want in but want to follow the rules.  That’s crazy.  Let the people who want to follow the rules in and make it more difficult for those who don’t want to follow the rules.

I’m torn between compassion for a people that are being driven from their homes because everyone in the world seems to be bombing  them versus a US President who’s immigration policy is destructive to the country.  This is a crisis that is tough to solve because the president played a game of chicken regarding immigration.  Not to mention that it is our poorly designed foreign policy that is partially to blame for the problem.

If you are on the pro-allowing the refugees in side, please cut the governors some slack.  The President has been taking advantage of the governors for years now and they’ve had to suck it up.  Now they have an issue that they have some traction with — sure it is xenophobic but if the President won’t engage them with moderate discussions, the best option sometimes is rallying more hardcore voters.

Leave a Reply

