ATA Colossal Vail 50/50 Nov 14 2015

I registered for the ATA Colossal Vail 50/50.  This will be my 3rd attempt at 50 miles.

The first time I tried the 50 mile distance I had a naive nervous confidence that I could handle the distance.  Then I DNFd at 40 miles.

The second time I was determined, I had the training down and even had a successful 50k training run.  I had to downgrade to the Marathon distance.

This time its different.  After 2 unsuccessful attempts– the distance is way more intimidating.  I’m healthy, training is going great, but can I figure out how to make it through the inevitable dark places?  Can I get my nutrition and hydration right and if not, can I recover?

The course sounds interesting and I’ll get to run in the dark — assuming all goes well and I don’t DNF.  That will be interesting.  Running in the dark sounds cool but I have a hard time remembering things when I’m at an aid station.  It would be very disappointing to forget to grab my lights from my drop bag.

It always is cool to have a race on the calendar.  It raises the intensity of training and it puts a major goal on the horizon.

E

Leave a Reply

