Labor of Love 50 Mile

I mailed off my entry today to Calico Racing’s Labor of Love 50 Mile race!  This will be my second attempt at 50 miles.

Labor of Love 50 Mile

I’ve run this course as a half-marathon before.  I was recovering from a torn calf muscle (ouch) and so I dropped from a marathon down to a half.  If you ever want to ‘podium’ in a race, sign up for a medium-short distance in a primarily ultra event.  I believe I finished 3rd in my age group but the field was really small since the focus was on the ultra-distances.

Whatever, this is a nice course and hopefully the weather will cooperate.  I think I have my pace down and I think I know some of the reason for knee injuries.  The biggest concern is going to be nutrition.  Hopefully even if my nutrition is messed up, I’ll be able to recognize the problem for what it is and tough it out.

E

Leave a Reply

