Equal Pay?

Equal Pay?

From the 2014 State of the Union Address:

You know, today, women make up about half our workforce, but they still make 77 cents for every dollar a man earns. That is wrong, and in 2014, it’s an embarrassment.

Women deserve equal pay for equal work. (Cheers, applause.)

You know, she deserves to have a baby without sacrificing her job. (Cheers, applause.) A mother deserves a day off to care for a sick child or sick parent without running into hardship. (Applause.) And you know what, a father does too. It is time to do away with workplace policies that belong in a “Mad Men” episode. (Laughter, cheers, applause.) This year let’s all come together, Congress, the White House, businesses from Wall Street to Main Street, to give every woman the opportunity she deserves, because I believe when women succeed, America succeeds. (Cheers, applause.)

I’m all for people getting paid properly for their work.  And I’ve been in the workforce my whole life so I have seen problems with business practices.  I hope I’m not looking at problems with rose colored  glasses.

I don’t understand the equal pay/equal work issue.

I try and see the world logically. The marketplace likes to find inefficiencies and exploit them.  If women really get paid 77 cents on the dollar, why would a business ever hire a man?

You and I  should start a kickstarter campaign to buy out a Fortune 500 company.  After we acquire this company, we will reduce men’s pay by 23% (for fairness of course).  Instant improvement in corporate performance.  We’ll make tons of money! Although if you are a women, I guess I won’t have to give you nearly as good of a return.

I see this issue as one of those “how can you be opposed to fairness?” issues.  Everyone thinks they are underpaid.  And the reason they are underpaid is they are being unfairly oppressed.  I’m sure it has nothing to do with their performance.  That would be heartless and unkind to say.

I like reading things that challenge my thinking.  If you have a link that can substantiate how there can be a stable market for a two-tiered pay scale I’d love to read it.  The math must be interesting!  Or if you want to help me set up a kickstarter campaign to buy out a Fortune 500 company, that would be fun too.

Thx,

Ed

PS: I promise I’ll post more coffee stuff.

Leave a Reply

